Hello everyone,

                Media is the source of all news.  Choice of media is a key factor in popular media.  People as a whole choose what media is given to them.  I, myself, choose to only read news about sports.  It is not because I don’t have access to other sources of media it is just preference.

I do not have good media choices, seeing as how I only enjoy watching or reading news about sports.  In Alexandra’s blog she mentions how “…the News is structured on a term called ‘News Values’. This term refers to an event or issue that is important enough to be put on TV and put into the media.” (http://alexandradeyman.wordpress.com/)  She is talking about how we are only shown certain things through mainstream media.  Not that we are unable to find other news that we want to find.  It just takes us wanting to find out.  I can easily access important news, but I only enjoy watching TSN or NFL Network.  Haley mentions in her blog that “As a teenage girl, I myself am addicted to watching episodes on celebrities like Kim Kardashian and her family…” (http://hb123na.wordpress.com/) and as a young guy, I am the same way but for athletes and sports.  I would much prefer to watch something talking about Sidney Crosby, or even Milos Raonic, rather than something about the stock market.  In Justin’s blog he says that people cannot do make it through a day without “…constantly checking and updating their social media accounts…” (http://justingmsblog.blogspot.ca/2013/10/the-media-we-want.html) and I completely agree.  I am the same way if I am bored I check Facebook or browse Instagram.  However, once again, the thing I am worst for is constantly checking my TSN mobile app.  I will honestly check it every 5 minutes of a day if I have my phone on me.

My media choices are really not better informing me about any important categories of the world.  I can easily access the information, I just choose not to because I am passionate about sports.  I love sports like someone else loves the stock market or another loves the celebrity news.

Thanks for reading,

Brandon Lewis